Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Board of Education

Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Calendar Highlights

View Entire Month

Home > breadcrumbs: District Information > breadcrumbs: Board of Education >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

A Special Thanks to Board of Education Members

January 01, 2017

Ordinary citizens doing extraordinary work: that’s how to describe our local board of education! These seven individuals are our friends and neighbors who are creating a future for every child in our community. They spend countless hours preparing to make decisions, participating in meetings and attending school activities and events. They advocate on the local, state and national levels for our children. They are held accountable for the decisions they make, and do all of this as volunteers.

Public education is a cornerstone of American society, and local school boards are deeply rooted in U.S. tradition. In fact, in 1966 the people of Kansas amended our state’s constitution to specifically call for local public schools that are ‘maintained, developed and operated by locally elected boards.’

Our local board of education is responsible for setting a vision for our local education program, and partners with staff and other members of the community to provide the facilities and infrastructure to achieve that vision. They research, study and then discuss issues so that they can make informed decisions on countless complex challenges.

Too often we forget about the personal sacrifices school board members make. The job of a school board member is tough, the hours long and the thanks few and far between. The month of January marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month and gives us the chance to say thank you!

The theme this year is “Public School Board Members Create a Future for Every Child.” This is a time to shine a light on how local boards prepare today’s students for success. In January, join with others throughout our district and state to salute the men and women who provide leadership for our public schools.

Perry-Lecompton USD #343  encourages the entire community to thank a school board member, not only this month but throughout the entire year.

The men and women serving Perry-Lecompton USD #343 and their years of service are listed below.

Travis Daniels, service since July 1999 – 18 years

Matt Erickson, service since July 2007 – 10 years

Jenny Morgison, service since July 2007 – 10 years

Traci Eddy, service since August 2012 – 5 years

Tiffany Ball, service since July 2013 - 4 years

Gene Barrett, service since July 2013 - 4 years

DeAnn Hupe Seib, service since July 2016 - 1 year


Thank you for your dedicated service to our students and schools!


Back To Top